30 x 30 Challenge

Who are you? That question is pretty easy to answer – I could say my name, that I am a writer, a friend, a partner etc. I define myself by what I know myself to be, and what I know myself not to be.

And what I know is that I’m no athlete.

I mean, not many of us are. Not professional athletes anyway. But I’ve never really thought like someone who was athletic or interested in sport. I’ve done a few 10k sponsored runs and played some badminton but that’s about it.  Because I know me – I’m not really the sporty type. I’m a WRITER. The indoors-y type. One that likes to read and sit behind a computer. And while all that may or may not be true, what is definitely correct is that I am not in my peak of physical fitness.

What is also true is that that it’s not what I am or am not capable of doing, it’s what I think and believe myself to be capable of. So, this is where the challenge comes in.

A month ago, I decided to think like an athlete and stopped smoking (albeit I told myself and am still telling myself that I can if I want to). This was inadvertently done to enable the next challenge happen – the 30 x 30.

It’s very simple  – it’s doing 30 minutes of something every day for 30 days. In this case, exercise. Today is day 5 and I’ve cycled, walked, run and swam for at least 30 minutes each day. A month ago I would have screamed at the thought of it.

It’s not about what I can do, it’s about what I think I can’t do and therefore won’t even try. Knowing absolutely that – rather than anyone or anything else – my biggest barrier is me is sort of illuminating.

Believing it though, is liberating. So, if I am not an athlete, what else is it that I am not?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 x 30 Challenge

  1. Drako says:

    Here, I challenge you to do some longboarding (skateboarding) with me for a period of half an hour at a mutually convenient time.

Leave a Reply

